Strange meeting

One night last week, in the early evening and after the post-work rush, I took a lift from my lofty workplace to the ground. One man, probably a bit older than I, was already in it. It was just us two.

At first he seemed to be reading something. He eyed me quizzically for a moment and then spoke.

“Did you go to Gordon West Primary?”

“No. I went to West Pymble. But my mother taught at Gordon West.”

“Librarian?”

My mother was the librarian. I probably nodded.

“Did you go to Barker?”

“No, but I did go to Artarmon.”

That might seem a bit of a non-sequitur but not, I think, to him: it was my explanation of where he might have known me – when we were both taking the bus to Gordon Station to our respective schools.

He told me his name; I told him mine; we shook hands. We talked a little more about West Pymble and West Gordon. Oddly, he was a little vague about the name of the street he lived in, but he did lay claim to living on “the poor side” of Ryde Road (that’s the east side, though I don’t think there was much in it).

My curiosity whetted, I found a picture of him on Trove in a Women’s Weekly story about Daffodil Day at Gordon West Primary in 1964.

Aided by the captions to the picture, I can recognize the man in the boy. I’m pretty amazed that he could recognize the boy in me.

3 Responses to “Strange meeting”

  1. Louise Feltus Says:

    Lovely! ThAnks for sharing!! 😊

    Louise Feltus

    >

  2. Andrew Says:

    Strange that he recognized you but then I think the young Victor is quite recognisable now from his blog photo.

    [Link added by Marcellous for those not in the know]

    • marcellous Says:

      Andrew, to me that is more in line with my being able to detect a resemblance between the kid in the Women’s Weekly story and the gent I met in the lift. It’s not as if you knew Victor back then and then recognized him now.

      Of course people bear a resemblance to themselves when younger – as one sees, for example, at school reunions, but there you have a bit of context to work with. I don’t know that my interlocutor had any context to work with at all, and that is what amazed me.

Leave a Reply

