Group portrait

P1060571

Last weekend, when at Gulgong, we took a drive to Coolah Tops.

We had to revisit the grass tree colony once we were there.

Leaving aside the now (just a bit sadly, I think) proscribed old common name for these plants, there is still something oddly anthropomorphic about them.  In part, it’s their sociable habit of growing together.  I’m not sure of the exact reason for this – moisture and soil nutrients might be the entire explanation, but it is quite striking.

Our visit was all too short.  It is still my ambition to spend a longer time at this tucked away and (I’d say) relatively unknown national park.

One Response to “Group portrait”

  1. ozandrew Says:

    I will always think of them as the name I know them by. They are bigguns and I have never seen them grouped like that.

Leave a Reply

