Amanda Thane

I belatedly caught up with the news that soprano Amanda Thane recently died.

It’s never been clear to me why we stopped hearing her at the Australian Opera. I last heard her sing in 2007 when she sang Frauenliebe und -leben at the Con. I think that this was not so long long after she and her husband, Glenn Winslade, returned to live in Australia. A return recital at the Con in 2008 was cancelled and I did wonder if she had some health problems.

In any event it is an early death for an artist whose performances gave me much pleasure.

Leave a Reply

