Last days at chez nous

A week ago, I received a 90-day notice to quit under the Residential Tenancies Act.

This was a bolt from the blue.  It is inconvenient.

We are but sojourners on this earth.  All of a sudden, the place I have grown quite comfortable thinking of as my home, my habitus, is the place I am about to be evicted from.

A lot of junk must be disposed of.  I’ve been going through my books.  I’ve been taking pictures of them in a last desperate hoarding gesture before letting them go.

This is one.

It is one of about 100 volumes of verse that I almost never read, but I’m still not sure if I’m parting with it just yet.

I knew just the poem in there for the moment:

It’s rather a mawkish piece, but just right now it tugs a chord.

And after ten years here, there are boxes, not of preserving jars, that are still unopened.

They must be the first candidates to go, but it will be hard.

5 Responses to “Last days at chez nous”

  1. Victor Says:

    I’m moving through choice, unexpected as that would have been a few months back but I’d hate to face moving ‘by force’. Good luck with your move.

    • marcellous Says:

      Thanks V. Yes of course people who own their own home move too and often more frequently than I have. It is the compulsion which aggravates.

      I’ve been enjoying the various extracts from your school reports. Have you discarded them on digitisation, or are you keeping them still?

      They don’t take up much space. I say: keep!

  2. wanderer Says:

    Moving is up there with divorce and death on the stress scale and I think it is the sorting, the avulsing of the past to be tossed into the bin or fire, that does it. I, of the weak willed, think the answer is to keep everything for which you have the slightest affection, including that mawkish, not, poem and its companions.

    • marcellous Says:

      W: thanks for the encouraging/comforting words. I love the word “avulsing.” It was new to me. I see it has a medical sense.

      The problem will be space. Our next place is still unknown but likely to be smaller.

      The thing which is really causing me anguish right now is the likely fate of cluttery stuff which if disposed of by me can probably only end up in the recycled waste landfill. Leading example: I’ve got hundreds of LPs. I can’t at present listen to them unless I get a substitute for the lack of a “Phono” input on my new AV receiver or resurrect the old amplifier (itself of course now facing the chop). Cassettes are a similar technologically obsolete category, as are video cassettes. I feel tender towards such threatened species.

  3. Music for grownups « Stumbling on melons Says:

    […] Stumbling on melons « Last days at chez nous […]

Leave a Reply

