Looking back

On the occasion of the new year, a short tally of live performances I attended in 2011.

My records (kept primarily to manage bookings and avoid clashes but yes, Narcissism is an issue) show that I went to :

  • 2 ballet or dance events (both blogged here);
  • 3 4 plays (none blogged here);
  • 12 chamber music concerts  – not all, I think, blogged here.
  • 18 performances of opera (but to 13 operas owing to some repeat attendances) – all productions if not all attendances blogged here, as far as I can recall (I haven’t checked); and
  • 23 orchestral concerts – maybe two-thirds of which have been mentioned here.

That’s about the same attendances in total as 2010 and 2009, about 20 fewer than in 2008 when I embarked on what I suspect was in part a blog-induced frenzy of playgoing and when the Sydney Piano Competition bumped up the figure, a few more than in 2007 and 2006 and slightly fewer than 2005, when the Philharmonia’s Bach Cantata series provided a boost.  That is as far as consistently maintained records (ie, preserved on this computer; in a sortable Word table for each year) go back.

The thing that puzzles me is my relative neglect of theatre, because in my youth I was quite an enthusiast.  It shows in both my attendances and the extent to which they are blogged.  Ballet really gets me in for the music.  My higher blog rate for opera over concerts can probably be put down to the occasion of the production – concerts seem more generic and I have said most of the meta-musical things I have to say about them.

I anticipate a degree of retrenchment this year, and that’s even before adjusting for the to-me relatively unalluring Opera Australia program – however “democratic” and “Australian” Mr Terracini may claim it to be.

2 Responses to “Looking back”

  1. wanderer Says:

    58 performances! Not bad, surely. If music is your thing then I suppose theatre and film get second rank – how many nights in a week are there.

    I’m trying to pay more attention to theatre this year. We should in Sydney. I’ve just booked Thyestes and ‘Tis Pity She’s a Whore and wondering about I am Eora. Cat’s away you know.

  2. marcellous Says:

    I go to films but don’t keep track of them so carefully. That also means that there are some I miss altogether through sheer inattention – the Patrick White one was a case in point. The reason I let them slip by is because I never feel that commitment is really decisive – a film can be rescreened and at the last resort caught on TV or DVD etc, though that is a less sociable experience.

    So my best strike rate with films is with one-off screenings of films which may be hard to catch again. Foreign language TV miniseries are a case in point – I’ve seen some excellent ones which have never seen the TV screen here. As for one’s fellow audience, I’m coming to the view that that is just about the only justification for going to the Mardi Gras Film Festival. I find the program content increasingly banal. That could be a question of what films are being made, what films are being chosen or the extent to which my thirst for “gay films” (whatever that exactly means) has already much been quenched. Nevertheless, I still like to catch up with the audience vibe and feel part of that crowd.

Leave a Reply

