A tip off

I received this email:

Dear [Marcellous],

It so happens that I need to be in the city around Phillip St next Tuesday morning and thought that, while there and in honor of my old days at the old building [the former Sydney University Law School], I would have a coffee at the [xxxx] Cafe. I intend to have this coffee by myself and certainly not with you that’s for sure but if you should happen to come by (not that I want you to) I will be there around [xx].30.

[xxxx]

It made me laugh.

Anticlimactic postscript

Received on Monday:

It is a very good thing that I am totally not having coffee with you tomorrow morning because my meeting in the city has been cancelled and if I were having coffee with you which I am not I would have to let you know…

Leave a Reply

