Waitan

I am embroiled in a trial after my return to Australia and to work, so posting about the Shanghai Ring has to wait.

This is just for the memory – the view from “M on the Bund” where I went (in fact, as it turned out, was taken, which is always nice) for lunch before the second Götterdämmerung, now last Friday. I had to dash away just after 2.30 for a short afternoon nap before the 5.30 start.

Because of the mid-autumn festival, Friday was a Sunday, and lunch was brunch. It is sobering to reflect that on the previous Monday (the night off between cycles) I and seven members of D’s family had a more than adequate (there were takeaway leftovers) meal at a local restaurant near D’s mother’s place for not much more than it cost for each of us on the Sunday for quite a lot less. That’s luxury for you.

Yesterday, in and out of court and perhaps inspired by the juridical atmosphere, I couldn’t dislodge the oath scene from my musical mind (Heilige Waffen! usw). This afternoon, oddly enough, it was the Rhinemaidens at the beginning of Act III. I don’t know why.

2 Responses to “Waitan”

  1. cmb Says:

    Hi! Is there a way I can contact you privately? We’d like to ask something regarding your photos :) Hope to hear from you soon. Thank you!

    • marcellous Says:

      Can you try something a little less generic as a comment first? I wouldn’t like to be contributing to spam back to the email address I’ve been given.

Leave a Reply

