Friday, riding westwards

Looking back over Glebe Island from the foot of the little foot/bike bridge at the beginning of Victoria Road, Rozelle.

It’s a bit disappointing that the picture comes out so small within the post, but you can always click on it for a fairer view.

5 Responses to “Friday, riding westwards”

  1. wandere Says:

    It’s nice to see the photographer back, a thousand words and all that (not to cast any aspersions on your word skills, far from it).

  2. marcellous Says:

    I’ve decided to give this pic it a run as my header, as you can see.

  3. wanderer Says:

    Yes I can – nicely cropped; it sits very well there and the colours are especially beautiful. It draws you right in and holds you, headlights and all.

  4. Victor Says:

    I love the Anzac Bridge; it looks interesting from so many perspectives.

  5. marcellous Says:

    It’s funny isn’t it, V? Back in 1995 or so when the bridge first went up, I loathed it for its unnecessary gigantism [as we know, no road will ever be big enough], but since then I have come to love it, though my wiser self still knows it is bigger than it need be.

    It is my gateway to evenings at the SOH and (less alluringly) my taxi route to work when I am in a hurry and in funds. My aunt, visiting from Albany, WA (ie, not NY) fell in love with it. I’m not so enamoured of the name or the kitschy statues, but I love the geometry and the almost fresnellish effect of the stay cables.

    I’m not sure, however, if I would love it so much if I lived in Glebe, because by virtue of its elevation it broadcasts its vehicle rumble over the whole peninsula.

Leave a Reply

