Waste

Sorting through my socks today, I managed to muster 26 reasonably plausible pairs. And there are about as many (or do I mean twice as many?) odd socks again after that relegated to the “odd socks drawer”, as well as a few in the wash.

In my 20s, I used to darn my socks. It was one of those Sunday-afternoon pastimes, like writing letters, that seems to have gone the way of the dodo.

Note to self: don’t buy any more socks.

At least, not for a while.

5 Responses to “Waste”

  1. Ken N Says:

    No, you buy all the same colour – navy works – so pairs don’t matter.
    You’ll never have a heap of odd socks again.

    • marcellous Says:

      Ken,

      I recall many years ago the late Peter Bowers‘ [note: turns out he wasn’t dead when this comment posted] wife making the same recommendation, and mostly I buy black. But there always seem to be subtle variations of fabric, ribbing, the elastic or not on the top of the sock, length and size and, most of all, aging through washing history. Under trousers its OK but when wearing shorts (as I do to cycle to work) all is revealed.

      It’s not that I won’t wear the odd socks because I certainly do. And maybe that’s the problem, because once you start doing that, it is very hard to stop. Pairs are separated and divergent wash experiences etc take their toll.

      PS: amazingly, in the digital age, I found a trace of the Bowers angle on this here.

  2. wanderer Says:

    Very overrated – matching socks I mean, not darning, that’s a great old sea salt skill. Any good at elbows on jumpers?

    • marcellous Says:

      W: elbows on jumpers are a bit more challenging. I think you need to be able to knit a patch to do them justice.

  3. Victor Says:

    Reminds me that I need to empty my socks drawer and start again.

Leave a Reply

