My Fair Lady

On Saturday night D and I went to see this, produced by Opera Australia.

When I saw that MFL was included in my Opera Australia subscription, my first instinct was to exchange my ticket: that’s not really what I subscribe to opera for. In the end, I yielded to inertia and the company’s obvious pride in the production and let the booking stand.

A moment of glory of my youth was to appear in a school production of this musical as Henry Higgins. I cringe to think of that now. I had already had a few cringeworthy moments watching from the Opera Theatre foyer when attending something at the Concert Hall, so the portents were mixed.

I should have trusted my first instincts more.

Leave a Reply

