Swearing-out ceremony

Naughton DCJ

When judges take up office, there is usually a ceremonial “swearing in” ceremony. When judges retire, there is sometimes a ceremonial sitting with valedictory speeches. The full title to this little snippet of transcript (found on the notice board at my workplace) is “The Naughton DCJ swearing out ceremony.” Judge Naughton of the District Court of NSW retired on 16 February 2007. I think you can safely assume that Mr McQuillan was not a legal practitioner, but a litigant-in-person.

3 Responses to “Swearing-out ceremony”

  1. ninglun Says:

    I guess that must be Terry Naughton, my classmate in Edgar Bembrick’s Latin class of 1959 at SBHS…

  2. marcellous Says:

    I think you are right.

  3. Kip Callender Says:

    I remember our Classics Master well. After the Intermediate Cert. I went the maths/science route and became an MSc (hons) geologist. Now at age 66 I am trying to resurrect my Latin studies.

Leave a Reply

