Old School Ties

On the way up to court in the lift earlier this week I was talking to a colleague.

As we were talking, someone interrupted “Well if it isn’t [Marcellous]!”  I found myself addressed by someone, now considerably more eminent in the profession than I, to whom I last spoke about 15 years ago, but with whom I went through high school from year 8 to year 12 before he went to ANU and I to Sydney University.

The judge I appeared before was in year 12 when I was in year 7.  About 13 years ago when I was a solicitor, I instructed him in a matter.  I doubt if he remembers me.

Leave a Reply

