Flattery will get you nowhere

Would that were true!

Yesterday I received a letter at work.  About half way down the page I read the following:

“As a senior and important member of the legal profession, it is my pleasure to invite you to become a”

The sentence started above the fold.  This was the first line.  I wondered what person identifying themselves in this way could be writing to me.

I unfolded it. The sentence continued:

“…Party Patron.”

The letter was from Senator Arthur Sinodinos, State President of the Liberal Party.

He is not a member of the legal profession at all!

The enclosed bumph included an application form which anticipated that I would “enclose $950 for my first year membership.”

For once, the title to this post has something going for it.

2 Responses to “Flattery will get you nowhere”

  1. Victor Says:

    Is he referring to himself as a senior and important member of the legal profession – which I imagine is a rather boastful statement for anyone to make – or is it possible that in a clumsily constructed sentence he is identifying you as a senior and important member of the legal profession?

    • marcellous Says:

      Well Victor, that was my little joke. I’m sure he meant (or at least, “meant”) the latter. Hence my title!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

